26 July 2014, 21:26

Chechen authorities impose sanctions on five US and EU officials

On July 26, the Chechen leader Ramzan Kadyrov compiled his own sanction list, consisting of five officials from the USA and EU, who are denied entry into the republic.

The "Caucasian Knot" has reported that at night on July 26, the official journal of the European Union published a list of persons covered by sanctions in the context of the aggravation of the situation in the south-east of Ukraine and the accession of the Crimea to Russia. In total, the list has 15 names, including Ramzan Kadyrov.

"Today, I decided to create my own list of sanctions, and I've listed the US President Barack Obama, the Chairman of the European Commission Jose Manuel Barroso, the Chairman of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy, the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Catherine Ashton, and the President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz. I have ordered to freeze their bank accounts and assets of every kind. From July 27 on they are forbidden to enter the Chechen Republic," says the statement of the head of Chechnya.

Ramzan Kadyrov has accused the above leaders of the United States and the European Union "of state terrorism directed against countries and peoples."

All news

September 21, 2019 22:04

September 21, 2019 21:56

  • Journalists beaten up in Ingushetia assess prospects of their complaints to ECtHR

    The journalists and rights defenders, who suffered, when their minibus of the Joint Mobile Group (JMG) was attacked in Ingushetia in 2016, have complained to the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), indicating violations of five articles of the European Convention of Human Rights (ECHR). However, the victims have no hope that their complaints to the ECtHR will contribute to the resumption of an effective investigation of their case in Russia.

September 21, 2019 15:21

  • Residents of South Ossetia mark Republic Day with parade and mass festivities

    On the occasion of the Republic Day in South Ossetia, four days-off were announced, September 20-23. According to the tradition, residents of Tskhinvali, the capital, came to the military parade and festivities, although not everyone knows the meaning of the holiday. In 1990, with the proclamation of the South Ossetian Republic, the process of the collapse of the USSR began, said Mamuka Areshidze, a Georgian political analyst.

September 21, 2019 15:17

September 21, 2019 11:38

News archive